Posted in English

Exam Pressure

One of the things that’s keeping me motivated to work  every day is the knowledge that I have an exam in May. The standard model for competency in European languages is known as The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages and the Portuguese variant of it is known as Centro de Avaliação de Português Língua Estrangeira (CAPLE). It has six stages, corresponding to the main framework’s A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 and C2. I am taking the B1 exam (known as the Diploma Elementar de Português Língua Estrangeira) at a centre here in the UK (sign up here if you’re interested). It’s a good way of increasing motivation and of course of proving to the world that I really am quite good at Portuguese, and not just braggin’. The trouble is, yesterday I did a test paper based on the A1 exam (that’s the easiest level of all) and I couldn’t do it at all. Specifically, I couldn’t tune in to what was being said. I’m a bit worried now. I need to boost my confidence levels somehow.

Partly, I suppose, I missed out on a lot of the basic school exercises in my rush to get ahead into complex sentences. For example I had never tried to write a letter or email in Portuguese. There’s a tutor who has written a helpful page about it though so that was a good place to start. Maybe I need to work through some more things like that and get some experience under my belt. Back to the books…

Author:

Just a data nerd

Leave a Reply

