Posted in Portuguese

A Fadista

img_20160926_215232Na segunda-feira, a minha esposa e eu fomos ao Barbican Centre, uma sala de concertos em Londres para ver um concerto da famosa cantora Ana Moura. O nosso sobrinho, que tem vinte e dois anos, cuidou da nossa filha. Ambos fomos directos do trabalho e mesmo assim quase chegámos atrasados. Sem surpresa, quando chegamos, ouvimos muitas vozes portuguesas no átrio, porque a Ana Moura é muito mais conhecida em Portugal do que em Inglaterra e vivem entre quarenta mil e cinquenta mil portugueses em Londres, a trabalhar principalmente na indústria de serviços.

O concerto começou com “Moura Encantada”, que é uma canção que conheço bem. Depois, cantou alguns fados tradicionais, cheios de saudade e pena, mas também cantou vários fados mais novos como “fado dançado” e até uma canção em inglês – img_20160926_215351Lilac Wine de Nina Simone. Ela disse que “Lilac Wine” é uma canção que representa o espírito do fado apesar de não ser portuguesa. Depois de três canções um homem na audiência gritou “Ah Fadista”. Aparentemente isto é um grande elogio para uma cantora. Finalmente, ela cantou as duas canções mais conhecidas, que se chamam “Dia de Folga” e “Desfado”.
Gostámos muito do concerto. Eu aproveitei para ouvir as palavras das canções, e além da Ana, ambos adorámos o som da guitarra portuguesa, tocada por Ângelo Freire.

Author:

Just a data nerd

5 thoughts on “A Fadista

  1. Hi Colin! Now, I stumbled over your first sentence “a minha esposa e eu” – this is something my teacher always corrects me on. Apparently, so she says, you start with yourself “eu” and then comes the other person/people you were with. In German, starting with “I” was fiercely corrected out of me as a child, and I guess the same must happen in English. I’d be really curious what your wife has to say about that, and whether starting with the other person really sounds as jarring as it does in English/German when you do it the other way around. Pls report back if you can bothered 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hm, she’s at work now bit I can see the reasoning behind it in Portuguese. “E eu” sounds awkward. In English, it’s always “my wife and I” but you can say either “my wife and me” or “me and my wife” if you’re the object of the verb. Interestingly, this text was checked by two portuguesas and neither of them changed the word order so maybe it’s a matter of preference rather than correctness? Hm… I’m not sure.

      Like

      1. It’s a minor point, for sure! When I correct other people’s English/German, I often don’t bother about fiddly points like these, even if the turn of phrase doesn’t sound entirely “natural”, if you see what I mean. I was just curious, since I’ve only ever had that conversation with my teacher and never asked anyone else about it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

