Posted in English, Portuguese

Ciúme – Translation

I’ve been trying to translate this new Ana Bacalhau song. It’s pretty difficult. I get the general gist: she’s describing her jealousy as a gift she gives. The actual language isnt easy though and I have probably made a load of mistakes.

Mais que uma rosa
More than a rose
Mais que um perfume
More than a scent
Dou-te uma cena de Ciúme
I give you a sense of jealousy
Faço prova aparatosa
I make a huge proof
Do meu amor por ti
Of my love for you
De peito* aberto
With an open heart
Cabeça ao lume
Head aflame
Mostro-te as minhas feridas de guerra
I show you my battle scars
Gentileza que o peito descerra
Kindness that my heart unlocks
Aceita o meu ciúme
Accept my jealousy
À vista de todos por cortesia
In the sight of everyone as a courtesy
Salta-me a tampa
My lid flies off
Vou ao teto
I’m going to the cieling
Como quem cede um afeto
Like someone who gives affection
Em plena luz do dia
In the plain light of day
Ciúme que não sai do peito
Jealousy that doesn’t leave the heart
É espinho que corta a direito
Is the thorn that cuts right through
E queima como sal
And burns like salt
A ferida onde fermenta todo o mal
The injury where the all the evil lies
Podes soltar aos quatro ventos
You can release the four winds
Podes não contar a ninguém
You can’t count on anyone
Mas toma conta dos meus tormentos
But take account of my torments
Como um presente de quem te quer bem
Like a present from a wellwisher
Guarda esta birra de menina
Keep this temper tantrum
Aceita a minha gentileza
Accept my kindness
Guarda com uma certeza
Keep it as a certainty
De haver quem te queira assim
That someone wants you like this 
E se eu às vezes abuso do meu
And if I sometimes abuse my own
É porque nunca acusas o toque
It’s because you never acknowledge the touch
Ciúme que não sai do peito
Jealousy that doesn’t leave my heart
É espinho que corta a direito
Is the thorn that cuts right through
E queima como sal
And burns like salt
A ferida onde fermenta todo o mal
The injury where the all the evil lies

 

*=Peito actually means “breast” but “heart” was the only way I could make it sound non-ridiculous in english.

Author:

Just a data nerd

Leave a Reply

