Posted in English

Something For Nothing 

I took part in a free seminar today about learning from mistakes in language learning. I’m sorry to say, I wasn’t wildly impressed. It was given by a teacher who is also a member of the online polyglot scene; a great advocate for the joy of languages who has leveraged her videos and general social media charisma to build her brand and gain new customers at a higher premium. In short, someone I admire in many ways.

Screenshot_20170701-170037

I realise of course that a free seminar is bound to include some element of sales pitch but in this case it really swamped the actual educational content which was reduced to a five or ten minute slice between the intro and the epic build up of the self study course. I couldn’t help feeling I’d have been better off reading or writing something.

Ah well, I guess in future I’ll just treat these free things with a bit more skepticism…

Author:

Just a data nerd

Leave a Reply

