Posted in English

Transatlantic Reading

As you’ll know if you were crazy enough to watch the video I posted the other day, I am currently reading a Portuguese book called ‘Jonas o Copromanta’ (Jonas the Copromancer) about a bloke who reckons he can read the future in his toilet bowl. I’m not following the grammar or vocabulary as closely as I normally would, because I don’t want to com fuse myself – I’m mainly just trying to practise pronouncing the words and following the gist of the story.

I’ve become obsessed with one line though:

O que achava da afirmação “Deus dá crases a quem não tem frases” de Ferreira Gullar’

I wondered what “crases” meant só I plugged it into gtranslate and the first thing it came up with was “quotations”. God gives quotations to people who don’t have sentences. Considering he’s actually quoting someone at the time, that’s a funny line! But then it changed to ‘sentences’. Well, God gives sentences to people who don’t have sentences is just rubbish, so I looked on the online dictionary, Priberam. Priberam gives four other meanings, none of which make any sense (to me, anyway) when I drop them into the wider sentence.

So now I don’t know what the sentence means and feel vaguely like I’m missing out on something important. If anyone reading this knows, I’d love to hear about it.

Author:

Just a data nerd

One thought on “Transatlantic Reading

Leave a Reply

